MTSS/I&RS


2020-2021
MTSS (Multi-Tiered Systems of Support)
 I&RS (Intervention and Referral Service Team)

MTSS Team Members

Name

Department Contact Info:
Matthew Corso
Chairperson
Guidance
corsom@nvnet.org
Erica Sposa
Chairperson English sposae@nvnet.org
Dr. Gina Restivo
Member
Wellness Coordinator restivog@nvnet.org
Courtney Reinfried
Member
Media Specialist reinfried@nvnet.org
Susan Van Buskirk
Member
Theater Arts vanbuskirks@nvnet.org
 Luisella Marolda Liaison Assistant Principal maroldal@nvnet.org
 Cara Bayer Liaison Child Study Team bayerc@nvnet.org

I&RS Team Members

 Name
Department Contact Info:
Christina Donnard Chairperson Social Studies donnard@nvnet.org
Kevin Hughes Member Science hughesk@nvnet.org
Gerry Beatty Member Child Study Team beatty@nvnet.org
Jaclyn Hering Chairperson  English hering@nvnet.org
Lydia Greco Member Student Assistance Coordinator grecol@nvnet.org
 Sari Weiss Member Science weisssg@nvnet.org
Luisella Marolda Liaison Assistant Principal maroldal@nvnet.org
 Cara Bayer Liaison Child Study Team bayerc@nvnet.org


What is the I&RS process?
1) The I&RS process begins upon a referral from the MTSS team.
2) The I&RS process is in no way a disciplinary process.
3) All information obtained in the process is strictly confidential.
4) The I&RS process can be a preliminary step toward an evaluation by the Child Study Team.
 
Process
A teacher or guidance counselor may refer students to the team for any of the following reasons: academic, behavioral, or social emotional concerns.

The I&RS process begins when the MTSS team reviews relevant data and makes a recommendation for Tier III interventions.
The I&RS team will gather information about the student’s academic or behavioral progress, previous and current test scores, and classroom behavior. The team will meet to discuss the student and develop a preliminary plan of action based on the information.
A parent meeting with the I&RS team and the student is arranged. At that meeting, the I&RS team draws up a plan of action with the input of all parties involved.
The I&RS team will meet periodically to monitor the student’s progress.
 
Goals of I&RS:
  • To develop strategies to help the student improve their academic standing.
  • To help the student adapt to the high school environment.
  • To examine potential disparities between the student’s class placement and their academic ability.
  • To determine if a child study team evaluation is needed.
  • To share successful strategies with the student’s teachers.
I&RS Procedural Manual
NVRHS NJTSS Manual