MTSS/I&RS


2020-2021
MTSS (Multi-Tiered Systems of Support)
 IRST (Intervention and Referral Service Team)

MTSS Team Members

Name

Department Contact Info:
Matthew Corso
Chairperson
Guidance
corsom@nvnet.org
Erica Sposa
Chairperson English sposae@nvnet.org
Dr. Gina Restivo
Member
Wellness Coordinator restivog@nvnet.org
Kerry Maher
Member
Mathematics maher@nvnet.org
Susan Van Buskirk
Member
Theater Arts vanbuskirks@nvnet.org
 Luisella Marolda Liaison Assistant Principal maroldal@nvnet.org
 Cara Bayer Liaison Child Study Team bayerc@nvnet.org

I&RS Team Members

 Name
Department Contact Info:
Christina Donnard Chairperson Social Studies donnard@nvnet.org
Kevin Hughes Member Science hughesk@nvnet.org
Gerry Beatty Member Child Study Team beatty@nvnet.org
Jaclyn Hering Member  English hering@nvnet.org
Lydia Greco Member Student Assistance Coordinator grecol@nvnet.org
 Sari Weiss Member Science weisssg@nvnet.org
Luisella Marolda Liaison Assistant Principal maroldal@nvnet.org
 Cara Bayer Liaison Child Study Team bayerc@nvnet.org


What is the I&RS process?
1) The I&RS process is in no way a disciplinary process.
2) All information obtained in the process is strictly confidential.
3) The I&RS process can be a preliminary step in getting an evaluation by the Child Study Team.
 
Process
The process begins when a teacher has exhausted all traditional methods for student intervention. This includes, but is not limited to, such tactics as talking with guidance counselors, calling or emailing home, and encouraging students to come for extra help.
A teacher or guidance counselor may refer students to the team for any of the following reasons: academic performance, behavioral issues, or overall concerns for the student’s well being.
The team then gathers information about the student’s academic or behavioral progress, previous and current test scores, and classroom behavior.
The team meets to discuss the student, and develops a preliminary plan of action based up the information obtained.
A parent meeting with the I&RS team and the student is arranged. At that meeting, the I&RS team draws up a plan of action with the input of all parties involved.
The I&RS team continues to monitor the student’s progress throughout the year.
 
Goals of I&RS Intervention
  • To develop strategies to help the student improve their academic standing.
  • To help the student adapt to the high school environment.
  • To examine potential disparities between the student’s class placement and their academic ability.
  • To determine if a child study team evaluation is needed.
  • To share successful strategies with the student’s teachers.
I&RS Procedural Manual
NVRHS NJTSS Manual